Blomidon Naturalists Society Minutes of Annual General Meeting Monday November 15, 2021

The meeting was held using Zoom

- 1. Meeting called to order by Soren Bondrup–Nielsen at 7:33 PM with 37 people in attendance.
- 2. Moved by Larry Bogan/Wayne Woodman that the agenda be approved. Motion Carried.
- 3. The minutes of the 2020 AGM had been previously circulated. Moved by Sara Lewis/Scott Burbidge that the minutes of the 2020 AGM be accepted. **Motion Carried.**
- 4. Soren Bondrup–Nielsen reported that he has had a lot of fun over the last five years as president. He thanked Riley Scanlan for all the work she had done as program co-ordinator. The Society has received a grant from the ECO Foundation which has allowed us to hire Caroline Beddoe as the new co-ordinator. She represented the BNS at the recent hearing of the Law Amendments Committee which was reviewing the proposed Environmental Goals and Climate Change Reduction Act.

Membership in the Society is 165.

The Board has approved a strategic plan, and he thanked all the Board members for all the work that went into its production. Comments are still welcome and can be sent to Soren by e-mail.

We received a grant it 2020 towards diversity, equity, and inclusiveness, and there will be a session for the Board with a moderator in early 2022.

The Butterflyway Project is moving ahead. Carolyn Green and Carol Donaldson were instrumental in getting it started and Ginny Brooke and Caroline Beddoe are now helping out. Several gardens have already been planted and the project should really take off next year.

There have been a number of upgrades at the Robie Tufts Nature Centre. It has been painted and new shingles have been put on the roof. The Society received a number of donations in memory of Sherman Williams and these will go towards new interpretive panels.

He shared a document that listed all of the Society's events' meetings, field trips, etc. for the past year. The meetings and webinars are recorded and are posted on-line for future reference. Hopefully, in the coming year we will be able to start meeting again it public at a place where we can have snacks and an opportunity to mingle socially afterwards. We hope to continue to use Zoom, both as a way or recording events, but to get speakers from outside our local area.

Judy Lipp gave an update on the 2021 activities of the Flying Squirrel Adventures. The number are from 2020-21 as the FSA "year" runs from April 1 to March 31 as that is the cycle for most grants.

5. Carolyn Green noted that there were four Board members who were stepping down this year: She offered special thanks to Jeannie Gibson Collins and Patrick Kelly who were on the Board for many years.

The committee had prepared the following slate.

President—Soren Bondrup-Nielsen 1st Vice-President—VACANT 2nd Vice-President—VACANT Treasurer—VACANT Secretary—John Burka Past President—Kent Williams Directors:
Carolyn Green
Emily Legrand
Judy Lipp
Avery Nagy-MacArthur
Anna Saroli
Riley Scanlan

6. Carolyn made three calls for any additional nominations from the floor. There were none. The slate was acclaimed.

7. Soren gave the financial report as he had been acting as treasurer since Howard Williams had moved back to Ontario. He noted that the job is much easier now that we have a bookkeeper as it consists mostly of depositing cheques, paying bills, and then submitting the paperwork to the bookkeeper.

Soren reviewed the income and expenditure report and the balance sheet. He noted that we had a net profit of about \$4,000 this year, compared to a loss of about \$4,000 the year before. There are plans to invest the funds that are it the chequing account once the last GIC matures. It will be done in green investments. Hopefully, once we have a treasurer, we can then have a discussion to make some decisions.

- 8. Soren noted that Hugh Chipman had been elected as the auditor last year and he had done a good job and would be willing to serve for another year.
- 9. Moved by Heather McNally/Ken Harrison that Hugh Chipman be appointed as auditor for the next fiscal year. **Motion Carried.**
- 10. There was none.
- 11. Heather McNally moved that the meeting adjourn at 8:25 PM

Patrick Kelly Secretary